Goose, dumplings and peas

In an attempt to add variety to my diet as well as expand my cooking skills, I added two goose legs to last week’s Good Food Box for myself.  I’ve never even eaten, let alone cooked, a goose before, so this was definitely something new.  A quick search for recipes on Google gave me this, and I thought it looked pretty good.  I also had all the required ingredients on hand, other than beef stock, which necessitated a trip to my local German grocery store.  (Sometimes Edmonton is awesome!)

While at the store, I spotted some bavarian dumpling mix, so I picked that up to have as a starchy side.  So I roasted the legs in a sauce made of the beef stock, fresh-squeezed orange juice, a little brown sugar, salt, pepper, and some rosemary that wasn’t called for but which I thought would be a nice addition.  (I was right.)

The goose turned out delicious; not quite as good as duck, but still quite tasty.  It had a certain fattiness to it that was most pleasing, and the sauce was great.  The dumplings, on the other hand, were not nearly as delectable.  In fact, I kind of hated them and won’t be buying them again.  I think a new project of mine should be to find and perfect a potato dumpling recipe and just stick to that.  Oh well…it can’t all be gold.

Leave a comment