The amazing tomato butter sauce

When I was in university, I came across a book called Booty Food by Jacqui Malouf. I saw the pretty pictures and was intrigued by the concept of a cooking and dating book, so I bought it.  Don’t judge me.  And then I never cooked a single recipe from that book.

UNTIL NOW.

I really wanted to make something simple for dinner on Sunday night, especially after messing around with goose legs and sub-par dumplings the day before (which my husband has since informed me are delicious when smothered in  3 kinds of cheese).  I found the book in the cupboard, pulled it out, and made the simple tomato butter sauce that the author’s husband won her over with.  After eating it, I can understand why it worked.It really couldn’t be much easier:

2 28-oz cans of whole tomatoes

1 medium white or yellow onion, halved and skin removed

1/2 cup butter

salt & pepper to taste

Drain the tomatoes but reserve the liquid from the can.  Squeeze out the excess water and seeds (but don’t be too picky; a few seeds won’t kill you) and give the tomatoes a rough chop.  Toss in a saucepan on med-low heat with the butter and onion halves.  That’s pretty much it.  Just simmer gently (splattering = bad) for about 40 minutes, stirring every so often and mashing the tomato chunks with your stirring utensil as you go.  When the sauce is fairly thick, take out the onion halves and season to taste.  Garnish with your favourite grated cheese (mine is pecorino romano).

Easy peasy, and looks fantastic on squid ink fettuccine.  Best eaten with someone you love.

Leave a Reply

