Of listening and eating

In mid-2006, I bought my first (and only, to date) iPod.  That was quickly followed by my first Macbook.  Now, as amazing as those two products are, my conversion to the cult of Mac is not what this post is about.  Shortly after learning to use the basic functions of iTunes, I discovered the wonder that is the world of podcasts.  I listen to several different ones, and they get me through my commute to and from work, long walks in the ravine area, and perhaps most importantly, long journeys around this country and others.

It’s only in the last couple of months that I thought to look up food podcasts.  It simply didn’t occur to be to seek any out before.  At any rate, I’ve dabbled with Crimes Against Food (although I only got through one episode), APM’s The Splendid Table, the Epicurious podcast, and Spilled Milk.  I think my favourite at the moment though is The Sporkful.  As their tagline says, it is not for foodies, it’s for eaters.  I appreciate it because a lot of the time it ends up sounding like when my friends and I sit around talking about the minutiae that is frequently involved in the construction and consumption of certain dishes.  Like peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. (But no one ever actually uses jelly.  Ever noticed that?)  Or burgers.  Or gum.  The hosts are also quite funny.

Anyway, all of these are worth a listen if podcasts are your thing.  I’ll be stocking up for my flight overseas next week, provided that Iceland doesn’t explode again.

Leave a Reply

